Is the Town of Jefferson a town, a city, or a county?

The Town of Jefferson is a Town and is often confused with the City of Jefferson and the County of Jefferson. Towns were formerly referred to as Townships. The Wisconsin Towns Association gives the following definition/differentiation: “Town as a form of government and Township as a geographic surveyor’s unit measuring six by six miles square.” The Town of Jefferson has common borders with the City of Jefferson to the east, south, and west. The Town is located in the central portion of Jefferson County, Wisconsin and is one of sixteen Jefferson County Towns. The Town of Jefferson Town Hall is located at St Coletta Cabin 434 County Road Y, Jefferson, WI 53549. Town Board meetings and elections are held at the Town Hall.